University of Ioannina


The University of Ioannina was founded in 1964. In 1970 became an independent Higher Education Institution, which grew rapidly in the coming years.

Today, the University of Ioannina includes 17 academic Departments which altogether number 13,523 undergraduate students. A number of organised postgraduate study programmes are on offer that combine taught and research elements both at Master's and Doctoral level. Approximately 1,300 students are involved in full-time study mode progressing to a Master's degree, while 2,217 students are currently pursuing their studies at Doctoral level.

The University of Ioannina is divided into the following Schools and Departments:

School of Philosophy

Department of Philology
Department of History and Archaeology
Department of Philosophy, Education and Psychology

School of Sciences

Department of Mathematics
Department of Physics
Department of Chemistry
Department of Computer Science

School of Education

Department of Primary School Education
Department of Pre-School Education

School of Medicine

School of Sciences and Technologies

Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Department of Biological Applications and Technologies

Independent (Non-School) Departments

Department of Economics
Department of Plastic Arts and Art Sciences

School of Natural Resources and Enterprises Management
(located in Agrinio)

Department of Business Administration of Food and Agricultural Products
Department of Environmental and Natural Resources Management

Independent (Non-School) Department
(located in Agrinio)
Department of Cultural Heritage Management and New Technologies


University of Ioannina, P.O. Box 1186, 45110 IOANNINA, GREECE | Tel.: (+30) 26510-07105, 07106, 07107, 07203, 07443, 07312 Fax: (+30) 26510-07024

THALES Projects coordinated by "University of Ioannina"