University of the Aegean


The University of the Aegean is an international research oriented university. It is an inspiring, innovative, socially committed institution situated in the Aegean Archipelago, the ancient cradle of knowledge.

The UoA embodies the concept of a 'university- network'- a network of schools and departments, dispersed  over five Aegean islands: Lesvos, Chios, Samos, Rhodes and Syros.  The challenge of academic and administrative decentralization has resulted in imaginative new approaches in academic practice and has enhanced the sense of unity within the academic community of each campus. It is the network structure that fostered the early and full incorporation of Information and Communication Technologies in every day practice. 

The UoA invests in innovative educational programs and multidisciplinary fields of research that correspond to the needs of the modern world. It has led the way in the introduction of new undergraduate and postgraduate disciplines such as  environmental studies, ICT’s, multimedia and design,  humanities, Mediterranean studies, making the UoA a pioneering and competitive institution at Greek nd European level. It boasts an experienced and well-qualified academic staff with great research expertise, fully equipped laboratories, extensive international links in both research and exchange programs and a vibrant student community.  The beautiful Aegean islands provide a unique, natural, cultural and human environment in which high quality research and education environment can thrive.

The University Units (Schools and Departments) are located on six different islands in the Aegean Archipelago (Lesvos ,Lemnos, Chios , Samos , Syros, Rhodes ), thus making the University of the Aegean a pioneer network university. The beautiful Aegean islands provide a unique natural, cultural and human environment in which high quality research and education can thrive.

The University Units are:

  1. UNIVERSITY UNIT OF MYTILENE (based in Mytilene, Lesvos), consists of two Schools: the School of Social Sciences and the School of the Environment
  2. UNIVERSITY UNIT OF CHIOS (based in Chios, Chios), consists of the School of Business Studies , which is comprised of the Departments of: Business Administration, Shipping, Trade & Transport and Financial & Management Engineering
  3. UNIVERSITY UNIT OF SYROS (based in Ermoupolis, Syros), Department of Product & Systems Design Engineering
  4. UNIVERSITY UNIT OF SAMOS (based in Karlovasi, Samos), School of Sciences - consisting of the Departments of: Mathematics, Information and Communication Systems Engineering and the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science
  5. UNIVERSITY UNIT OF RHODES (based in Rhodes, Rhodes), hosts the School of Humanities consisting of the Departments of: Primary Education, Sciences of Pre-school Education & Educational Design and Mediterranean Studies.
  6. UNIVERSITY UNIT OF LEMNOS (based in Myrina, Lemnos)


University of the Aegean, Administration Building, University Hill, 81100 Mytilene, Greece