Harokopio University of Athens (HUA)


Harokopio University was the 18th state University established in Greece. Founded under the article 9 of Law1894/90, as amended by article 17 of Law 1966/91, on the initiative of Professor George Karabatzos (+2011). Harokopio University was named after the national benefactor Panagis Harokopos, who envisioned an educational institution with excellent building facilities and equipment, in harmony with the natural environment, which could offer contemporary science. So the opportunity was given both to Panagis Harokopos and Evanthia Harokopou – Petrutsi to fully exploit their assets according to their wishes.  
The design and overall development of the University has been based on international standards and on scientific research, commissioned by the Institute of Regional Development of Panteion University, ordered by the Minister of Education of that period. The existing building infrastructure was completely renovated in 1993-1994 and was supplemented by the construction of a new building in 1999-2000. During 2011 a new building will be completed in the area of Tavros on land purchased in 2004.
Harokopio University admitted its first students during the academic year 1993-1994. During the first years of operation it was successively administrated by two Managerial Committees. President of the first Committee (1991-1996) was Athina Zamani- Papapetrou, Professor, University of Athens, Vice President was George Karabatzos, Professor, Harokopio University, and members were: Eleftherios Karagiannopoulos, Director of Programming and Research of the Ministry of Education, Eftixia Kominatou – Pagoni, Dirctor of the Technical Department of the University of Athens, Antonis Rigas, Professor, University of Athens, Ilias Sidiropoulos, Professor, Panteion University and Nikolas Tsoutsas, Lawyer – Legal Advisor Harokopio University. President of the second Committee (1996-1999) was Constantinos Balis, Professor, Agricultural University.
Since 1999 the University acquired the first Rector, Professor Georgios Karabatzos, and the first Vice Rectors, Professors Vassilios Stavinos,  Constantinos Balis (+2000) and since 2000 Andreas Kyriakousis. In 2004 Professor Andreas Kyriakousis became Rector, with Vice Rectors Professors Smaragdi Antonopoulou and Katerina Maridaki – Kassotaki.

Today Harokopio University comprises four undergraduate Departments

1.  Department of Home Economics and Ecology (since 1993)

2.  Department of Nutrition and Dietetics (since 1994)

3.  Department of Geography (since 2000)

4.  Department of Informatics and Telematics (since 2007)

as well as four postgraduate programmes:

  1. Sustainable Development
  2. applied Nutrition and Dietetics
  3. Applied Geography and Spatial Management
  4. Education and Culture



Harokopio University 70, El. Venizelou Kallithea 17671 Athens - GREECE Tel. +30 2109549100 Fax. +30 2109577050

THALES Projects coordinated by "Harokopio University of Athens (HUA)"