Democritus University of Thrace (DUTH)


Democritus University of Thrace (DUTH), in Greek: Δημοκρίτειο Πανεπιστήμιο Θράκης, was established in July 1973. It is based in Komotini, Greece and has campuses in the  cities of Xanthi, Alexandroupoli and Orestiada. The university accepted the first students in the academic year 1974–1975. It was named after the ancient Greek philosopher Democritus who was born in the city of Avdira.

DUTH has two faculties and twenty departments in four cities — nine in Komotini, five in Xanthi, four in Alexandroupoli and two in Orestiada. The total number of students is approximately 30,000.

As a university it is state-owned and fully self-administered. It is thus supervised and subsidized by the Greek State and the Minister for National Education and Religious Affairs.